LG dryer dlex5101v 3 4 prong cord change

I recently changed my LG dryer model dlex5101v from a 3 prong to a 4 prong cord. As you can see in the pics below, they are not compatible

Here is the instructions manual that I found online. Look at page 19 for the 4 prong cord. LG manual

When I took off the back cover, the picture below depicts what I had and saw. The wire labeled “neutral” goes on the middle of the board. The other two don’t seem to have any labeling on them and I am assuming they can go either way since its alternate current (AC).

Then I unscrewed all three wires and took off the cord. I also unscrewed the white wire from the green screw and that goes connected to the white wire.

now using the newly purchase 4 prong cord, I linked the green wire to the green screw. The black goes to the left and red goes to the right. And the white one goes in the middle along with the white wire that we unscrewed and mentioned in the previous paragraph. It should look like below

image

Also found the great diagram below that is on the back of the drier:

image

 

 

Leave a comment if it helped you

 

 

 

Leave a comment